Canterbury Rugby League 2017 Senior Award Winners

Canterbury Rugby League 2017 Senior Award Winners


Presidents 10 a side Tournament

Riccarton Presidents Trophy winners – Sydenham Swans

Division 1

Old Crowe Cup – Round Robin Competition Winners – Woolston Rams

Kidd Mitchell Cup – Grand Final Winners – Woolston Rams

18’s Grade

H.B. Rogers Cup – Round Robin Competition Winners – Hornby Panthers

Terry Cox Memorial Trophy – Grand Final winners – Hornby Panthers

Canterbury Cup Grade

Carol Crozier Trophy – Round Robin Competition Winners – Linwood Keas

Fred Arnesen Trophy – Grand Final winners – Linwood Keas

Women’s Premier Grade

New City Hotel Trophy – Round Robin Premiership Winners – Papanui Tigers

CRL Trophy – Grand Final Winners – Papanui Tigers

Men’s Premier Grade

Massetti Cup – Round Robin Premiership Winners – Linwood Keas

Pat Smith Challenge Trophy – Grand Final Winners – Linwood Keas

Referees Awards

Youth Grade Referee of the Year – Jordan Chand

Senior Grade Referee of the Year – Chris Baker

Premier Grade Referee of the Year – Jason Wilson

Individual Awards – present awards & miniatures Warren Poh (CRL Board)

Mel Cooke Trophy, Grand Final Man of the Match – Alex Todd (Linwood Keas)

John Coffey Cup, Grand Final Coach – Andrew Auimatagi (Linwood Keas)

Turner & Le Brun Cup, Most Goals in a season (47 Goals and 111 points) – Daniel Hartley (Linwood Keas)

A G Bailey Cup, Most Tries (14 tries) – Ben Ilalio (Halswell Hornets)

Poore Cup, Club with most Premiership points – Linwood & Hornby – 9 points

CRL Trophy, Volunteer of the Year – Fina Fa’amoe (Aranui Eagles)

Rochelle MacPherson Trophy, Administrator of the Year – Devon Harding (Halswell Hornets)

NZ Masters Cup, Club Manager of the Year – Barb Fletcher (Halswell Hornets)

NZ Masters Cup, Coach of the Year – Andrew Auimatagi (Linwood Keas)

R C Reddock Trophy, Club President of the Year – Jim Barclay (Riccarton Knights)

NZRL & Southern Zone Scorpion Recognition

Southern Zone 19s Tournament Team side – Jope Tagicakibau (Riccarton Knights), Keeghan Woolley (Northern Bulldogs), Seth Tauamiti (Papanui Tigers), Hazani Fa’amoetoeloa (Aranui Eagles), Daniel Kilbride (Hornby Panthers), Caleb Scott (Halswell Hornets), Harold Kolose (Celebration Lions)
Gary Smallridge (Referee of the tournament)

Katrina Lancaster (Manager of the tournament)

Jope Tagicakibau (Back of the tournament)

Seth Tauamiti (Forward of the tournament)

Tai Arona – Selector during the NZRL National Youth Tournament

Match Officials appointed to NZRL Domestic Competitions –
Jason Wilson, Dai Roberts, Chris Baker, Owen Harvey

Match Officials appointed to SZRL competitions –
Jason Wilson, Dai Roberts, Chris Baker, and Owen Harvey

NZRL appointed Match Managers – Andy Rowe & Daryl Hawker

NZ Kiwi Ferns World Cup Training Squad: Sui PAUARAISA (Linwood Keas), Stacey Hildreth (Papanui Tigers)

2017 National Youth Tournament Merit Team 17s Chanel Feala (Linwood Keas), Domanyc Fidow-Kele (Linwood Keas) & Griffin Neame (Halswell Hornets)

NZRL Performance Camp 16s – Caius Faatili (Hornby Panthers), Manaia Edwards (Halswell Hornets) & Griffin Neame (Halswell Hornets) originally from the West Coast

NZRL Performance Camp 18s – Chanel Feala (Linwood Keas), Jordan Riki (Hornby Panthers), Josh Rawiri (Halswell Hornets), Seth Tauamiti (Papanui Tigers), Daniel Sakisi (Celebration Lions), Jope Tagicakabau (Riccarton Knights) & Brad Campbell (Hornby Panthers) originally coming from the West Coast.

Canterbury 19’s

Rookie of the Year – Malyche Tafili

Most Outstanding Player – Zachary Riley

Sportsman of the Year – Keeghan Woolley

Canterbury Women’s Team

CRL Trophy Rookie of the Year – Sui Tauasa Pauaraisa

Terri Ta’ase Trophy Most Outstanding Player – Fleur Barker

Canterbury Women’s RL Sportswomen of the Year – Bunty Kuruwaka-Crowe

Rockcote Canterbury Bulls Awards

Rookie of the Year: Josh Aileone

Most Outstanding Player: Chase Kereama-Williams

Sportsman of the Year: Reuben Te Amo

NZRL Honours:

NZ Secondary Schools:

Caius Faatili (St Thomas of Canterbury College, Hornby Panthers)

Patrick Elia (St Thomas of Canterbury College, Hornby Panthers)

Jordan Riki (St Thomas of Canterbury College, Hornby Panthers)

Nick Le Comte (Trainer)

NZ 16s Residents:

Caius Faatili (Hornby Panthers)

Griffin Neame (Halswell Hornets) travels from the West Coast to play in CRL weekly competition

Mel Mather (Manager)

Andrew Auimatagi (Head Coach)

NZ 18s

Seth Tauamiti (Papanui Tigers) – NZ 18s Residents & 18s Select

Daniel Sakisi (Celebration Lions) – NZ 18s Residents & 18s Select

Jordan Riki (Hornby Panthers) – NZ 18s Residents & NZ 18s Final Team

Lee Paru (NZ Select Trainer)

NZ Residents:

Reuben Te Amo (Riccarton Knights)

Erwin Sauni (Linwood Keas)

James Baxendale (Hornby Panthers)

Chase Kereama-Williams (Northern Bulldogs)

Te Iwi Ngaro Wairau (Assistant Coach)

NZ Kiwi Ferns:

Corrina Whiley (Papanui Tigers) – Anzac Test

Bunty Kuruwaka-Crowe (Papanui Tigers) – Anzac Test & World Cup Squad

Mike Linton (Assistant Coach)


CRL Shield – Club of the Year

Halswell Hornets


DV Syme Rosebowl

James Baxendale – Hornby Panthers

Share this

Posted in