CRL Premiers Massetti Cup Rd 12 Wrap

CRL Premiers Massetti Cup Rd 12 Wrap

The Canterbury Rugby League top four is locked in with two weeks of the regular season remaining after the Massetti Cup’s heavyweights flexed their muscles in a one-sided Round 12.

Celebration Lions bounced back from last week’s shock loss to Aranui and simultaneously ended Northern Bulldogs’ slim finals chance courtesy of a 42-12 thrashing at QEII Park. The Lions opened up a 24-8 halftime lead and went on with the job in the second half, leaving the fifth-placed Bulldogs six competition points in their wake.

Linwood Keas stretched their winning streak to 11 games with a commanding 42-16 win over Halswell Hornets, with winger Phillip Wahnig blazing over for a hat-trick. The Keas led 18-6 at halftime at Linwood Park before running in four second-half tries.

Hornby Panthers continue to keep the Keas honest in the race for the minor premiership, thumping Riccarton Knights 34-10 at Branston Park. Tauvale Tauvale and Chris Eric notched doubles for the second-placed Panthers.

Papanui Tigers sealed their spot in the playoffs with a hard-fought 24-10 win over Aranui Eagles at Papanui Domain. The Shane Endacott-coached Tigers were just 16-10 in front at the break, but scored the only two tries of the second stanza to grab the two points.

Massetti Cup Ladder: Linwood 22, Hornby 20, Papanui 16, Celebration 16, Northern 10, Riccarton 4, Aranui 4, Halswell 4.

Linwood Keas 42 (Phillip Wahnig 3, Iuma Mulitalo, Chris Nijssen, Michael Nicholls Cane, Jiordan Fidow-Kele tries; Daniel Hartley 7 goals) d. Halswell Hornets 16 (Ben Ilalio, Sam Kelso, Willie Davis tries; Sean Scott 2 goals).

Celebration Lions 42 (Taniela Leka, Kyle Leka, Kalolo Aukilani Tuuu, Abraham Fonomoa, Hamish Jarden, Jonathan Lima, Muipu Nati tries; Tama Walker 7 goals) d. Northern Bulldogs 12 (Manu Tipelu, Hayden Jones, Patella Tou tries).

Papanui Tigers 24 (Kyle Pauro 2, Jared Neho, Joshua Aileone, Tanu Suavine tries; Izic Placid 2 goals) d. Aranui Eagles 10 (Tristan Jackson, Akaporn Bearman tries; Mark Tawha goal).

Hornby Panthers 34 (Tauvale Tauvale 2, Chris Eric 2, Dene Grace, Sam Wallace, Craig Smith tries; Smith 3 goals) d. Riccarton Knights 10.

Canterbury Rugby League Logo
Share this

Posted in