Caius Fa’atili Named In NZ 16s Squad

Caius Fa’atili Named In NZ 16s Squad

New Zealand Rugby League have named their New Zealand Resident 16s side to take on the Maori Rugby League 17s later this month, and there’s a distinct South Island flavour in the squad.

Hornby Panthers’ Caius Fa’atili is the sole Canterbury representative, but he will be joined by fellow South Islanders Griffin Neame (West Coast) and Leroy Ferguson (Otago).

Meanwhile, Rockcote Canterbury Bulls and Linwood Keas coach Andrew Auimatagi will coach the side, and Bulls manager Mel Mather is also part of the team.

The 18-strong squad will set out to follow in the footsteps of Steven Marsters and Chanel Harris-Tavita who were instrumental in the NZ Resident 16s team that last took to the field in 2014, both of whom went on to play for the Junior Kiwis.

These players have been identified as the best talent at 16s level from across New Zealand.

To watch the live stream of the game follow the @NZLeague Facebook page.

NZ Resident 16s v NZ Maori 17s

Rotorua, Puketewhero Park

July 22


NZ Resident 16s team:

Akarana: Christian Tuipulotu, Jyris Glaumuzina, Nathaneal Sasagi, Temple Kalepo, Jona Polota-Kopa, Junior Tuleisu; Counties: Aamon Dean, Brian Lealiifano, Diaz Taihia, Kaya Cuthers, Marco Talagi, Semisi Tapa, Xavier Stevens-Teo; Southern: Caius Fa’atili, Griffin Neame, Leroy Ferguson; Upper Central: Rayna Whakaari; Auckland Vulcans: Caleb Pese,

Andrew Auimatagi – Head Coach

Cody Walker – Assistant Coach

Mel Mather – Manager

Tania Harris – Assistant Manager

Jason Clarke – Trainer

Emile Vollenhoven – Physio

Share this

Posted in